The Year of the Blog

Okay, I’m going to admit it. I am a fantastic planner. I plan the most riveting, beautiful, humorous blog posts…in my head, and that’s where it stops. While I seem to be able to ‘plan’ up a storm, my follow-through sucks at the best of times. My lists of excuses are endless and my poor husband (who has set up a blog for me on two occasions because he’s the truly awesome one out of the two of us – thanks babe) is rather tired of my planning sans execution.

I love blogs. Absolutely LOVE them. My Google Reader is filled with my favourite blogs and I allow myself time every morning to read through other peoples’ experiences. Want to read a good blog on adoption? I can recommend 10. How about DIY? Cooking? Parenting? Christian living? I have all of these categorised and ready to go.  For some reason, I had a mental block about releasing my own daily nonsense to the interweb. This is partly because I don’t consider my life to be particularly blog-worthy, but apparently there is no such thing as ‘blog-worthy’. If you have a life, chances are someone will find it interesting. Pushing my decision to give this blog thing another go was three individuals telling me I should write a blog in the last week. Okay, okay, if you insist. But don’t expect any camera magic or fancy design work, mkay.

Now, because I want to prove to you how truly lazy I am (and therefore not raise too much expectation) I am going to copy and paste my first intended blog entry when I had this grand idea last year. If you have any tips on how I can maintain this blog, I’d really appreciate it.

Enjoy.

Welcome to my blog!

After obsessing, I mean, reading my friends (interweb and real-life) blogs for the past year, I decided it was time to do a little bit of blog contributing of my own. Believe it or not, I studied Journalism, but must be the laziest publisher of my own writing in the history of lazy journalists! I’m not sure whether this blog will count as putting my journalistic skills to good use, but a plan to make it fun and hopefully readable, so that must count for something, right?

Why Caramella Clan, you may ask? I promise to fill you in a little later, but to give you a clue: It has something to do with me being of the vanilla persuasion and my husband being just a little bit sweeter J. Although we’re not quite a ‘clan’ yet, I believe in the longevity of this blog and hopefully the clan will expand in the future (yup, I like to be super prepared like that! BAM – my husband is rolling his eyes!)

What will I be blogging about? Goodness me, I’m not quite sure. As I’ve said, we don’t have any kiddos of our own just yet (insert sigh here), but I won’t let that stop me. I tend to “borrow” other people’s children for brief periods of time and give them lots of TLC – you’ll read about them here in what will probably be the more ‘serious side’ of my blog. Mr Mentor and I also like to believe we lead rather interesting lives. To be honest, Mr Mentor leads an interesting life and I tend to tag along for the ride. Mr Mentor is quite a talented writer too and I’m planning to force, I mean ask, him to contribute every now and then. I have plenty of interests, opinions, beliefs, loves, thoughts and pet-peeves. I’m hopeful some of it will make for interesting blog posts.

I know it is likely only my family who will read these ramblings, but if you call yourself my friend I expect you to be a devoted follower too! (just saying).

And with that out the way, I officially welcome Caramella Clan to bloggy land!Clan leaders aka Mr T and Julz

4 thoughts on “The Year of the Blog

  1. YAY! Another blog I can spend time reading instead of doing other boring things, like house work! I don’t know if this is helpful, but to maintain our little bloggy, I sit down one evening a week – mostly Sunday nights – and write about everything that happened in that week. Then I set it to go off one a day or every second day or whatever to not be too much of a pain. Trying to do it every night just never works out for us.

    Looking forward to seeing more posts mkay! (LOL)

  2. Hey! Awesome, love the look!

    I have no advice to give on maintaining your blog, because I’m hopeless!

    except… enjoy, have fun and don’t let it be another ‘thing you have to do’! Do it for love!

    love ya
    xx

Leave a Reply

